Skip to content

How To Disable the NES CIC Lockout Chip.

January 14, 2014

I have been modifying consoles for many years and only now have I done one of the most common, simple, and useful mods there is: Disabling the NES lockout chip. If you have had issues with your NES constantly resetting when a game is inserted, you might want to consider doing this yourself. I hadn’t experienced this since I cleaned my 72 pin connector… at least until today. I was having issues using a Famicom to NES (60 pin to 72 pin) adapter with a Famicom Everdrive N8. It worked fine on one of my adapters but not on the other. The reason for this is that one of the adapter boards had a real CIC chip on it while the other adapter just tricks the CIC chip in your NES to allow imported games to run. In order to prevent any future issues, I decided to disable the CIC chip. Although this little mod has been covered hundreds of times on various sites, I am going to go over how to do it. Remember, this is for the front loader NES (toaster), not the top loader. This mod is not needed for the top loader. Things you will need:

  • Soldering Iron
  • Solder
  • Wire Cutters
  • Small piece of wire
  • Screw Driver

Take apart your NES. The chip you need to work on is located underneath the main board. My chip is labelled as 3193A. Your chip may have a different number. NES Disable CIC Lockout Chip WP_20140113_001 Now cut or desolder pin 4. I cut mine close to the board so I would have a little room to solder the ground wire to it. Try not to bend those capacitors too much! WP_20140113_014 Now jumper a wire from pin 4 to one of the ground pins (11-15). I used pin 13 because it is directly across from pin 4. WP_20140113_022 Test it before putting it back together completely. If you are still having issues with games not working, you may need to clean/fix your 72 pin connector or buy a new one ($6 to $8 on eBay). Anyway, that’s it! Enjoy your blink free NES.

From → Mods, NES, Nintendo

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

