Skip to content

Original Game Boy (DMG) with Audio Line Out Mod & Teal Backlight.

May 12, 2013

 

I’ve been wanting to do one of these for years. I was hesitant due to the high failure rate of adding a backlight. If you aren’t careful you can destroy your screen. After doing more research at midnight on a Saturday night (when I make all my best decisions), I finally decided to give it a try. Here is everything I used…

I know… most people aren’t going to want to drop $68-$73 to spruce up an old Game Boy. It is worth the cost if you want to play the best version of Tetris with a backlit original screen and better sound. I’m not the only one who wants that, am I?

As you probably already know, the majority of the people that want these modified Game Boys are chiptune artists. Using LSDJ or nanoloop you can basically turn your Game Boy into a synthesizer.

For you savvy folks, I will post separate tutorials for the audio line out mod and backlight mod.

If you want any of this done to your Game Boy or just want to buy one already made, contact me for pricing and options. Remember that certain shells, buttons, backlights, etc. are not always available.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

